Ayeshika’s story(ග්‍රාමීය ජන ජීවිතය හා තොරතුරු තාක්ෂණය)

Ayeshika is a school girl who studies in grade 11 Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya at present. She is one of girls who was designing webs and blogs under the evillage project situated inside the computer lab of Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya. Ayeshika does not have her father unfortunately with her and she lives with her Mother and Sister. Both the sisters come to Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya and were fine with the studies. Ayeshika has more talents than students of her age. If we forget the fact that these students have not had enough teachers in their school while they were very young she has showed a fine capableness for education and other traditional processes which All average Sri Lankan girls have. From Grade one she is the monitor of Her grade. She got the high marks for religion and technical subjects. Students are very reluctant to go front of a gathering and address them. Ayeshika does not belong to that category and as she does Dancing from the childhood she is an aesthetic girl.

There is no any association in the school where Ayeshika does not participate. She once was the chairman of Sinhala Literary association junior category and did her service to Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya. Every year she participates for English, Sinhala Language days and has performed there nicely. One of the milestone of her student hood is she joined the village project. From this point she could learn basics of computing and Select to the junior e-team of the school. Then she did the upper computer course which is conducted by Aruna Sir our computer Teacher and finished it with satisfactory demonstration of web designing and web blogging. She started her blog from there and started broadcasting herself to the whole world. Ayeshika prefers to write on Any subject on Sinhala. At the monument she is learning English very hard and she will finish it with colours we believe.
Another mile stone of her student hood is Mother Sri Lanka debate series organized by the Ministry Of education, Sri Lanka with collaboration of Presidents office. This series of Debates held at several places island wide. Firstly there was the Zonal Level competition and from there Batuwangala MahaVidyalaya Won the first place. Ayeshika elaborated on old Sri Lankan tank building technologies and livelihood of Ancient Sri Lankan people. She compared to today Society as well and built some nice arguments. She did her best to become the Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya the First of Zonal Level. Then we went to District level. The Function was organized at one of leading colleges in Galle, Sri Lanka and our team consisted Ayeshika and another five members. However the competition was very high as the schools from each and every corner of the Galle district was there. All day alone the completions were in progress and Finally Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya won the second place resulting us to be participate for the Grade finale of the provincial Level. The Provincial level competition was there at University of Ruhuna Sri Lanka and BMV won the Second place from there also. Ayeshika was brilliant as a students to present her argument even front of all distinguish guest from Ministry of education and of course she did major role for the school. The All island debate competition will be on next month and we now are readying for the event. Ayeshika herself is busy coz she has to face GCE OL coming December.
Nilipa Ayeshika’s sister sat for GCE OL examination on December 2007 and got best results for the school. Nilupa is a 19 yrs old girl from Batuwangala. She is very cleaver and talented girl and of course she is going to sit for the G.C.E. A/L examination held by department of examination. The exam will be on August this year. She is a member of Batuwangala evillage project from the beginning and of course she was studding in Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya then and now goes to A national School. Not as many children Ayeshika and Nilupa have come across lot of hurdles from childhood. Her mother is a housewife. Facing the challenges of poor family economy she never gave up giving her Children a good Education. Even Some times they didn’t have food for breakfast. Two sisters came to school with a big hope of One Fine day.

Even though these girls do these things they were facing lot of hardships. Their mother had to look after these two girls with lot of care. In April 2009, Ms Heike Sonntag (a German teacher who is running social projects throughout Sri Lanka) visited Batuwangala evillage as a part of a training session organized by Aruna Sir, our patron. Then Miss Heike promised a scholarship for Ayeshika. This was the happiest news they had ever heard. Keeping her word, Miss Heike found sponsors in Germany who were willing to support Ayeshika with a scholarship of 20 Euros per month. The scholarship started in July 2009 and is now managed by a German society, Sri Lanka Hilfe Verein Zollernalb e. V. (with Mr. Abeysingha Gamage as its chairman and their Sri Lankan office located in Galle). With this scholarship Ayeshika has been able to continue her education without any obstacles. Ayeshika also helped her sister too with this scholarship.
In November 2009, Ayeshika’s German foster mother, Mrs. Annette Willmann visited Ayeshika’s home and noticed that there was no electricity in the house and that the two girls were studying using kerosene lamps. Mrs. Willmann then decided to fully sponsor all the necessary works and the CEB application fee to get electricity into Ayeshika’s home. Miss Heike, who yearly spends a few months in Sri Lanka to do social work, acted in Mrs. Willmann’s name, making the necessary money transactions and keeping Ayeshika’s foster parents informed. Miss Heike reports that Mrs. Willmann is very delighted to see the photos taken of the two girls sitting at their fully lighted study desks.
We would like to thank Mrs. Willmann, Miss Heike and Sri Lanka Hilfe Zollernalb e. V. for their continuous work and dedication in helping Sri Lankan children. Finally, Principal Tilaka Wijenayake and Mr. Aruna Chaminda must be thanked for their cooperation regarding the task.


We would like to thank Sri Lankan hilfe zollernald e v project regarding their coordination for this event. Special thank goes to Mrs.Sandya Akuratiyagamage for her Outstanding support to this innocent Girl Ayeshika. Finally Principal Thilaka wijenayake and Mr.Aruna chaminda must be thank for their cooperation regarding the task.

The Central theme of Evillages is developing rural areas by using ICTs. Batuwangala evillage in this regard has done brilliant throughout. There are other students who could face their future with no fear at all coz of our evillage project. We hope to publish each and every story in a sequence. We thank everyone Including SEMP projects, Ministry of Education, Sri Lanka, for supporting to go ahead with this project.

About batuwangala

I am Aruna Chaminda Pushpakumara.I was born as the eldest of my family. I have one sister. we live in Galle. I was a extroversive character from my childhood. I used to be with my grandmother when I was a child. She was my first teacher. She lived in polonnaruwa and to day I believe, the time I spent with my grand mother has made me who I am today. From the childhood I wanted to learn every thing. I can remember well. I didn’t wanted to pass the examinations. But wanted to learn how things work. I was not a tamed boy. As my grandmother most of the time had to visit my school for principals, class teacher’s messages. I did two things from the begging. One was mathematics. The other was English. I got through my OL with a distinction for mathematics. Then every one in my family wanted me to learn to be an engineer. But I wanted to be a doctor. I got through the GCE AL. But couldn’t enter the university. Then I applied for National College of Education. I got selected for Mahaweli National College of Education. This is the place where I became a defferent man. I followed the teacher training course and of course I rather followed IT over there. Most of the time I observed thing deeply and I had the ability to endure thing thoroughly. After three years of my training I came out from the college as a full teacher. Even to day I would like to thank full my teachers over there. Madam Rathnayake and Madam Manik wawegama was my best teacher Educators. Specially Assistant Principal Mr.Premadasa of Nugawela Boys College is some one I will never forget. As a whole by Teacher training I got vast knowledge, and experiences which I absorbed through out that time period helped me to work and think not only a Teacher but a counselor, also as a matured person who can understand things and how the universe works. I got my teacher appointment in 2006.I came to Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya as an English teacher. Batuwangala Maha Vidyalaya is a Beautiful location. I was living in busy environment before coming here. But after I came to batuwangala I felt that I came to the place where I meant to be. So Finally I studied about the village and one day mathematics teacher Mr.Sarath brought me in to the computer lab. I saw more than 20computers were there. Dust full environment. Only three pcs were preferably can use.Mr.Sarath talked to me and he talked to principal and so I became the in charge of the lab. I cleaned the lab for more than 24 hours with senior students. Students were curios abut their new teacher who rarely speaks Sinhala.I finished the labs security levels and opened the lab for children. We published a web site for our school. Within one month. Student became friendly and I always asked them to take me as a friend who knows more than them .I also have given them the freedom to think up to far far away so they can explore things in different ways .I asked them always to start thinking where I stoped.I teach them not to pass all that examinations but to live. One day accidentally Mr.Block Jayathissa who was the Southern province IT director for SEMP talked to me. So as we were given evillage project. From there we has come across lots of obstacles. But my students, and me always silent but working. To day I have bough the innocent students to the global village. Batuwangala is 65km away from Galle city.But now I have made it one click to the whole world. Principal Thilaka Wijenayake,BMV staff helped me and guided me through.I want to see a day where my students use computers as professionals do one day.
This entry was posted in About Us, News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ayeshika’s story(ග්‍රාමීය ජන ජීවිතය හා තොරතුරු තාක්ෂණය)

  1. Pingback: සන්ධ්‍යා නිරෝෂනීලාගේ කතාව. | තරුණ ගුරුවරයකුගේ සටහන්(A young teacher’s thoughts).

Leave a Reply

